History of Smithfield Middle School

    Smithfield Middle School opened its doors in the fall of 1975.  At that time, it was called Smithfield Jr. High.  Mr. James Neindorff was the first principal.  Several teachers came over from Watauga Jr. High to open the school.  By 1980, the student population had increased, and the back hall was added.   Mr. Neindorff retired in spring 1981, and in the fall of 1981, Mr. Ed Logan became the second principal.  The spring of 1989 was the last year our school was called Smithfield Jr. High.  Mr. Logan retired spring of 1989, and with the new middle school configuration, we also had a new principal.  Mrs. Doris Tipps became the 3rd principal of Smithfield Middle School in the fall of 1989. 


    In 1996, Smithfield Middle School received a second building expansion and renovation.  What is now the front hall was added, the large courtyard across the hall from the cafeteria was enclosed & covered and became what is now the library and two computer labs.  The old library space was converted into the two six grade science lab classrooms.  The present office previously was three classrooms and part of a courtyard.  Mrs. Tipps retired in the spring of 1998, and Ms. Susan Fisher became the fourth principal in the fall of 1998.  She was principal for five years until moving on to become principal of Birdville High School in 2003. 


    Mr. Jeff Russell became the fifth principal of SMS to begin the 2003 school year and was principal till 2011.  With Mr. Russell's leadership, Smithfield Middle received an "Exemplary" rating from the State of Texas during the 2009-2010 school year.


    Mr. Kyle Pekurney became the sixth principal of the Raider Nation in 2011. 



Last Modified on June 18, 2018