• TELPAS (Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System) & TELPAS Alternate

    Grades K–1 include:

    • holistically rated observational assessments of listening, speaking, reading and writing

    Grades 2–12 include online tests for:

    • listening and speaking
    • reading and writing


    The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) is an English language proficiency assessment aligned to the Texas English Language Proficiency Standards (ELPS). This assessment is designed to assess the progress that emergent bilingual (EB) students make in learning the English language. TELPAS fulfills ESSA requirements for assessing EB students in kindergarten through grade 12 in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. 


    Texas Education Agency TELPAS Resources


    Texas Education Agency TELPAS Alt Resources