Birdville ISD students earn national honors 10/15

Birdville ISD students earn national honors

BISD is proud to announce it has three National Merit Semifinalists and 13 National Merit Commended Scholars and one National Hispanic Scholar for the 2015-16 school year.

Nearly 1.5 million juniors in 22,000 high schools across the country entered the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program last year by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors received the prestigious designation of becoming a semifinalist this year.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

BISD’s 2015-16 National Merit Semifinalists are:

Birdville High School
Jacob Brown
Elizabeth (Libby) Feray

Richland High School
Anna Polk

National Merit Commended Scholars are:

Birdville High School
Taylor Campbell
David Durden
Brandon Holmes
Jessica Peterson
Matthew Reddy
Preston Seebock

Haltom High School
Sebastian Cox
Richland High School
Chris Dobbins
Hina Hussain
Sarah Jones
Ruth Kingsbury
Brad Pipes
Dylan White

National Hispanic Scholars are:

Richland High School
Jose Garcia

The National Merit Scholarship Program will announce additional program honorees later this school year. (October 2015)