TEA designates 23 new T-STEM Academies

TEA designates 23 new T-STEM Academies

AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced today that the Texas Education Agency has designated 23 new Texas Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
(T-STEM) Academies for the 2016–2017 school year. With the addition of these 23 new campuses, Texas is now home to 121 state-designated T-STEM Academies.
T-STEM academies are rigorous secondary schools focusing on improving instruction and academic performance in science and mathematics-related subjects, with a goal of increasing the number of students who study and enter STEM careers. Designated T-STEM campuses serve students in grades 6–12 or 9–12.
“The continued growth of Texas STEM academies reflects a commitment to rigorous instruction in key subjects that challenges students while also preparing them for the future,” said Commissioner Morath. “A strong foundation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics prepares students for college, career or the military, which in turn strengthens our state’s economic future.”
The 23 campuses or charters designated as T-STEM Academies for the 2016–2017 school year are:

 Birdville ISD:  Birdville Career and Technology Education
 Canutillo ISD: Canutillo High School
 Cedars International Academy: Cedars International Next Generation High School (Austin)
 Edcouch-Elsa ISD: EE-T-STEM Early College High School*
 Edinburg CISD (2): Economedes T-STEM Early College High School* and Edinburg Collegiate T-STEM Early College High School*
 El Paso ISD: Franklin High School
Ÿ  Greenville ISD:  Greenville High School T-STEM Academy

Ÿ  Harmony Public Schools:  Harmony School of Excellence (Austin)

Ÿ  Houston ISD:  South Early College High School Advance Technology Institute

Ÿ  Humble ISD:  Humble High School STEM Academy

Ÿ  Judson ISD:  Karen Wagner T-STEM

Ÿ  Kingsville ISD:  H.M. King STEM Academy*

Ÿ  La Joya ISD (4):  Academy of STEM at La Joya ISD at Juarez Lincoln High School; La Joya High School; Palmview High School Academies;      Thelma Salinas STEM Early College            High School*

Ÿ  Lufkin ISD:  Lufkin ISD T-STEM Academy

Ÿ  Mansfield ISD:  Frontier High School

Ÿ  Salado ISD:  Salado High School

Ÿ  Tekoa Academy:  Tekoa Academy of Accelerated Studies STEM School (Port Arthur)

Ÿ  West ISD:  West High School

Ÿ  Ysleta ISD:  Ysleta High School Environmental Science and Engineering Academy

* Denotes campus with a state T-STEM and Early College High School designation
School districts or open-enrollment charters can apply each year for a campus to be awarded T-STEM designation (if certain criteria are met). Once a campus is designated, professional development and technical assistance are provided to designated T-STEM academies to serve as demonstration schools and learning labs. Designated academies showcase innovative instruction methods that integrate technology and engineering into science and mathematics instruction.
A complete list of designated T-STEM Academies in Texas can be found here: http://tea.texas.gov/T-STEM_schools.pdf. To learn more about T-STEM Academies, visit the Texas Education Agency website at http://tea.texas.gov/T-STEM/.  (JUN2016)