• Welcome to Second Semester!
     
    Tuesday - January 21, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    2nd semester expectations
    Russia (CIS) Political Map (Test Friday)
    Mapping Questions (Physical features of the CIS)
     
    Wednesday - January 22, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review map (Test Friday)
    Complete labels of physiographic features
    Color map as a climate map
     
    Thursday - January 23, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review map (Test tomorrow)
    Outline skills
    Unscramble outline of Russia's physical features
     
    Friday - January 24, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review map
    Map test
    Introduction to the "Avatar Adventure Book"
     
    Monday - January 27, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Ppt review of Russia's physical geography
    Avatar Adventure Books
      Discuss objectives again / distribute rubrics
      Work w/partners to develop avatars and titles of adventures
     
    Tuesday - January 28, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Avatar Books
      Review objectives
      Distribute Rubrics
      Time to work
     
    Wednesday - January 29, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Tsarist History / copy timeline
    Serfs, Intellectuals, Clergy, Nobility
      Distribute forms
      Discussion to follow
     
    Thursday - January 30, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Modern Russia
    Discuss, "A Day in The Life..."
    Complete Avatar Books
     
    Friday - January 31, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Simulation:  Life Under Stalin!
      (Be careful not to end up in the gulags!)
     
    Monday - February 3, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Debrief Stalin Activity
    Intro:  Animal Farm
    Notebook check soon
    Complete Stalin notes
     
    Tuesday - February 4, 2014
    Meet in the Lecture Hall
    "Russia's Last Tsar"
     
    Wednesday - February 5, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Complete "Russia's Last Tsar"
    Case study:  Chechnya
     
    Thursday - February 6, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Folder Check
    Case Study:  Chernobyl
     
    Friday - February 7, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review
    Test:  Russia and the Eurasian Republics
    Test tomorrow
     
    Monday - February 10, 2014
    Meet in the Lecture Hall to hear guest speaker, Sally Kight.  Mrs. Kight has live in Russia and continues to make trips back and forth between Russia and the USA.  She has previously been named a BISD Teacher of the Year... what great credentials for presenting to our students!
     
    Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    For classes 1,2,5,7:  Turn in review sheets and test over Russia
    For classes 5 and 7  The "Story of John Scott in Magnitogorsk"
     
    Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Return Avatar Books
    Return Tests
    Introduction:  Middle East / political map and current events / map test Tuesday
     
    Thursday, Feb 13, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / Test Tuesday
    Physiographic Features
                               
     Friday, Feb 14, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review Map
    Mapping Lab:  SW Asia
    Map due Tuesday / Test Tuesday
     
    Monday, Feb 17, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Review Map / Test tomorrow / Map due tomorrow
    Case Study:  UAE / Video and current events 
     
    Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Map Test
    Complete physiographic map
     
    Wednesday, Feb 19, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Return physiographic maps
    Return map tests
    Intro:  Religion of the Middle East
     
    Thursday, Feb 20, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Foldable Notes / Religions of the Middle East
      Judaism
     
    Friday, Feb 21, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Complete foldable notes
    Open-note test on Religion Monday
      Christianity and Islam
     
     
    Monday, Feb 24, 2014
    Meet in the Lecture Hall for Culture Grams
     
    Tuesday, Feb 25, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Open-note quiz = Religion
    Turn in  Foldable Notes
    Israeli and Palestine Conflict
     
    Wednesday, Feb 26, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Complete Israeli and Palestine Conflict
    Return physical maps
    Return Tests and flip books
    Culture Grams Discussion
     
    Thursday, Feb 27, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    6 events that shaped Middle East history
     
    Friday, Feb 28, 2014
    CBA Test
     
    Monday, March 3 2014
    Snow Day / classes canceled
     
    Tuesday, March 4, 2014
    GeoQuestion Complete 6 events that shaped Middle East history
    Israeli Flyover
    Folder check soon
     
    Wednesday, March 5, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Middle East:  Big Ideas
    Folder check soon
     
    Thursday, March 6, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Intro to the Arab World (T/F questions with discussion)
    Folder check tomorrow
     
    Friday, March 7, 2014
    GeoQuestion
    Folder Check
    Portfolio
    Latitude/Longitude Puzzle
     
    Monday, 3-17-14
    GeoQuestion
    Intro:  Map of Africa
    color regions
    North and West regions to be tested next Monday
    T/F Africa introduction
      Handout
      Powerpoint
     
    Tuesday, 3-18-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / test Monday
    Physical geography of Africa
      Handout
      Powerpoint
     
    Wednesday, 3-19-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / test Monday
    Africa Clue Map / political
     
    Thursday, 3-20-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / test Monday
    Africa "Clue Map" / color according to the HDI chart
     
    Friday, 3-21-14
    GeoQuestion
    Reminder:  Map test Monday
    Mapping Lab
     
    Monday, 3-24-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / quiz N and W sections
    Introduce East and Central sections
    Levels of Development / The Magic Washing Machine (TED)
     
    Tuesday, 3-25-14
    GeoQuestion
    Reminder: Quiz Friday east and central Africa
    Africa's Colonization... a simulation / ppt / notes
     
    Wednesday, 3-26-14
    GeoQuestion
    50 Years past Colonization
      Introduction and map
     
    Thursday, 3-27-14
    GeoQuestion
    Case Study:  Kenya (Video and Study Guide)
     
    Friday, 3-28-14
    GeoQuestion
    Quiz: East and Central Africa
    Diseases of Africa (video snapshots and discussion)
     
    Monday, 3-31-14
    STAAR Testing ELA I
    Afternoon classes:  Socratic Seminar
     
    Tuesday, 4-1-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Southern Africa / Quiz Wednesday
    Apartheid and South Africa
     
    Wednesday 4-2-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Southern Africa / Quiz
    Rwanda Genocide
     
    Thursday 4-3-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / quiz
    Complete Africa unit / test tomorrow
     
    Friday, 4-4-14
    GeoQuestion
    Test:  Africa
     
    Monday, 4-7-14
    Meet in the Lecture Hall for our, "South Asian Experience" / Scavenger Hunt
     
    Tuesday, 4-8-14
    GeoQuestion
    Return and discuss Africa unit test
    Debrief yesterday's "experience"
     
    Wednesday, 4-9-14
    GeoQuestion
    Intro:  South Asia Sketch Map
     
    Thursday, 4-10-14
    GeoQuestion
    Intro: India subcontinent
    South Asia Open-book Quiz
     
     
    Friday, 4-11-14
    GeoQuestion
    Sketch map quiz... be sure to complete your map accurately for this activity
     
    Monday, 4-14-14
    GeoQuestion
    Introduction to the history of South Asia
    Book Study
     
    Tuesday, 4-15-14
    GeoQuestion
    Story strip of India's history
     
    Wednesday, 4-16-14
    GeoQuestion
    Complete story-strip of India's history
     
    Thursday, 4-17-14
    GeoQuestion
    Simulation of India's Caste System
     
    Friday, 4-18-14
    GeoQuestion
    Levels of Development
    Pennies a Day... a study of microcredits
     
    Monday, 4-21-14
    GeoQuestion
    Ppt review
    Test:  South Asia
     
    Tuesday, 4-22-14
    GeoQuestion
    Return tests over South Asia / discuss
    Portfolios
    Intro:  Map of East and SE Asia
     
    Wednesday, 4-23-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map of East and SE Asia
    Intro:  Physical features
     
    Thursday, 4-24-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review political map of E and SE Asia
    Complete physiographic map
     
    Friday, 4-25-14
    GeoQuestion
    Case Study:  The Koreas
     
    Monday, 4-28-14
    Meet in Lecture Hall to view, "Inside North Korea"
     
    Tuesday, 4-29-14
    GeoQuestion
    Debrief video
    Complete graphic organizer of the Korean Peninsula
     
    Wednesday, 4-30-14
    GeoQuestion
    Introduction to Mongolia
    Powerpoint, discussion, notes, video snapshots
     
    Thursday, 5-1-14
    GeoQuestion
    MONGOLIA!  Video overview
     
    Friday, 5-2-14
    Levels of Development
      Identify countries on map
      Color countries according to their level of development
      Answer the question... "Overall, is East and SE Asia more developed, newly industrialized, or less developed?"
     
    Monday, 5-5-14
    Biology STAAR Test
     
    Tuesday, 5-6-14
    Algebra I STAAR Test
     
    Wednesday, 5-7-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Map / Test Tuesday
    East and SE Asia Physical Geography (ppt.)
     
    Thursday, 5-8-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Map / Test Tuesday
    HEI Factors of East Asia
        Three Gorges Dam
        Great Wall of China
     
    Friday, 5-9-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Map / Test Tuesday
    China's history
      Video Snapshot of Terra Cotta Army
      Reading and study guide
     
    Monday, 5-12-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review map / Test tomorrow
    Silk Road
    ppt and Video
     
    Tuesday, 5-13-14
    GeoQuestion
    Map Test:  East and SE Asia
    China's population issues
     
    Wednesday, 5-14-14
    GeoQuestion
    Return map tests / discuss
    Japan!  Intro w/ T/F questions
     
    Thursday, 5-15-14
    GeoQuestion
    SE Asia
    ppt and video snapshots
     
    Friday, 5-16-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review for Monday's unit test
     
    Monday, 5-19-14
    GeoQuestion
    Unit test:  E and SE Asia (STAAR format)
     
    Tuesday, 5-20-14
    GeoQuestion
    Folder Check
    Australian Walk-About!
     
    Wednesday, 5-21-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Australian Walk-About
     
    Thursday, 5-22-14
    GeoQuestion
    CBA
    Final Exam Review Sheet
     
    Friday, 5-23-14
    GeoQuestion
    Final Exam Review
     
    Tuesday, 5-27-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review
     
    Wednesday, 5-28-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review Jeopardy
     
    Thursday, 5-29-14
    GeoQuestion
    Review
    7th-period final exam
     
    Friday, 5-30-14
    GeoQuestion
    1st period exam
    6th-period exam
     
    Monday, 6-2-14
    2nd period exam
    5th-period exam
    School dismissed at 11:30am
     
    Tuesday, 6-3-14
    4th period exam
    3rd period exam
    Summer begins at 11:30am!  Enjoy your break... I've certainly enjoyed geography with YOU this year :-)