• logo   logo
  • TEA designates 23 new T-STEM Academies

    AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced today that the Texas Education Agency has designated 23 new Texas Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
    (T-STEM) Academies for the 2016–2017 school year. With the addition of these 23 new campuses, Texas is now home to 121 state-designated T-STEM Academies.
    T-STEM academies are rigorous secondary schools focusing on improving instruction and academic performance in science and mathematics-related subjects, with a goal of increasing the number of students who study and enter STEM careers. Designated T-STEM campuses serve students in grades 6–12 or 9–12.
    “The continued growth of Texas STEM academies reflects a commitment to rigorous instruction in key subjects that challenges students while also preparing them for the future,” said Commissioner Morath. “A strong foundation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics prepares students for college, career or the military, which in turn strengthens our state’s economic future.”
    The 23 campuses or charters designated as T-STEM Academies for the 2016–2017 school year are:

     Birdville ISD:  Birdville Career and Technology Education
     Canutillo ISD: Canutillo High School
     Cedars International Academy: Cedars International Next Generation High School (Austin)
     Edcouch-Elsa ISD: EE-T-STEM Early College High School*
     Edinburg CISD (2): Economedes T-STEM Early College High School* and Edinburg Collegiate T-STEM Early College High School*
     El Paso ISD: Franklin High School
    Ÿ  Greenville ISD:  Greenville High School T-STEM Academy

    Ÿ  Harmony Public Schools:  Harmony School of Excellence (Austin)

    Ÿ  Houston ISD:  South Early College High School Advance Technology Institute

    Ÿ  Humble ISD:  Humble High School STEM Academy

    Ÿ  Judson ISD:  Karen Wagner T-STEM

    Ÿ  Kingsville ISD:  H.M. King STEM Academy*

    Ÿ  La Joya ISD (4):  Academy of STEM at La Joya ISD at Juarez Lincoln High School; La Joya High School; Palmview High School Academies;      Thelma Salinas STEM Early College            High School*

    Ÿ  Lufkin ISD:  Lufkin ISD T-STEM Academy

    Ÿ  Mansfield ISD:  Frontier High School

    Ÿ  Salado ISD:  Salado High School

    Ÿ  Tekoa Academy:  Tekoa Academy of Accelerated Studies STEM School (Port Arthur)

    Ÿ  West ISD:  West High School

    Ÿ  Ysleta ISD:  Ysleta High School Environmental Science and Engineering Academy

    * Denotes campus with a state T-STEM and Early College High School designation
    School districts or open-enrollment charters can apply each year for a campus to be awarded T-STEM designation (if certain criteria are met). Once a campus is designated, professional development and technical assistance are provided to designated T-STEM academies to serve as demonstration schools and learning labs. Designated academies showcase innovative instruction methods that integrate technology and engineering into science and mathematics instruction.
    A complete list of designated T-STEM Academies in Texas can be found here: http://tea.texas.gov/T-STEM_schools.pdf. To learn more about T-STEM Academies, visit the Texas Education Agency website at http://tea.texas.gov/T-STEM/.  (JUN2016)



    Comments (-1)
  • BCTAL Receives Grant to Implement Nationally Recognized High-Tech Manufacturing Course

    North Richland Hills, Texas – The Birdville Center of Technology and Advanced Learning (BCTAL) announced today that it is the recipient of a $25,000 grant from Project Lead The Way (PLTW) to implement PLTW’s Computer Integrated Manufacturing (CIM) course, which will introduce more students to modern manufacturing and career pathways, and prepare them with knowledge and skills related to the advanced manufacturing sector. PLTW is a nonprofit organization that provides a transformative learning experience for K–12 students and teachers, and BCTAL joins more than 8,000 schools across the U.S. in offering PLTW courses to students. The grant was made possible by a generous donation from the Toyota USA Foundation.  (MAY2016)

    > View Press Release




    Comments (-1)